On Loneliness and Unforeseen Comfort

Loneliness has been the most common feeling for quite a while now. It’s become rather difficult for me to find something from which I can draw a feeling besides loneliness and desperation; they say every cloud has a silver lining, but I can’t even tell apart the clouds. It all looks like one jet-black sky for me, with not a single crack from which light can escape to illuminate my dim life.

Not long ago I met some new people and made friends with them. One of them stood out in particular. He seemed to be able to do what I’ve been struggling to achieve for a long time; he came in and opened up a crack for the sunlight to shine through. I do not know how exactly his presence seems to have lifted up my ill mood, but it did.

He’s quite my opposite; extremely extroverted, daring, sociable, optimistic, selfless, and engaging. Every day he tells me about his adventures with utter joy and satisfaction, and it makes me happy. For months I’ve been searching for something to make me the least bit cheerful, and I have finally found it in someone else. I have found my happiness in his. It really does bring me significant relief. I was this close to giving up, locking myself in my room till I rot and die. I never thought I would need someone else to pull me out of my misery. I’ve always been an independent person. I never told anyone about my problems. I never reached out to anyone for help. Heck, he didn’t even know how I felt about everything; he wasn’t even trying to make me feel better. He just did it, and I find that quite remarkable.

Until then, don’t give up, please, appreciate your friends and make use of their presence to pull yourself out of whatever misery you might be drowning in, remember that there’s always a ray of sunshine out there, and you just need to make way for it to come through, and keep blogging.

7 thoughts on “On Loneliness and Unforeseen Comfort

  1. That’s an amazing blog you wrote! I agree with you, friends are everything and they know how to pull us out when we’re sinking. I have 2 blogs I wrote about this which may also help you as it helped me. One is called Light A Candle Instead of Cursing The Darkness and the other is Lights In Your Tunnel. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad that I became aware of your blog! Good friends are an amazing resource. Even when the weight of loneliness is holding me down, I’ll make coffee dates with friends. I am ALWAYS glad that I did.
    Hang in there. Your blog is great. I look forward to reading more.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

