On Musical Preferences and Associated Stereotypes

The list of stupid things people say to one another is endless, and throughout my blogging experience, I will try to cover as many of them as I possibly can. Today’s topic is something that irritates me beyond expression – well, everything on that list does, but anyway, you get my point – and that is how people label you according to what music you listen to.

I won’t act all noble and angelic here; I hate hypocrites. So here it is: I used to be one of those people who disliked others because their musical preferences did not match theirs, but now I realise how stupid that is, so I’ve added it to my list.

If there’s one thing everyone should know it’s that no matter what the subject is, not everyone is going to agree with you; there are always other who will have their own opposing views and will fight to prove them right. But wait, you have your own views too, and you will go to ends to prove them, so who’s right here?

No one. When it comes to views and opinions, there is no right or wrong, and that is something we often forget.

Go and listen to whatever the hell you like, and I’ll be here listening to what I like.  You don’t need to call someone a Satanist for liking Heavy Metal or gay for liking One Direction or retarded for not listening to music at all. You don’t need to make anyone feel uncomfortable and tease them because they think differently, and you don’t need to force someone into doing something they don’t want to do. All you need to do is mind your own damn business and keep your hands out of people’s throats. The best response when someone says “I don’t like specific band/genre” is “That’s okay, you don’t have to” because you’re free to like whatever you want without being bullied for it.

One of the comments that I often get when I tell people I listen to Hard Rock/ Heavy Metal is “you don’t look like it”. Well, I don’t need to be heavily tattooed and pierced to classify as a  Metal-head. No, I don’t summon demons in my free time, and no, I don’t wear all-black every day and hiss at daylight. I look like a normal 17-year-old female. I don’t need a stamp of approval from anyone, and neither     do you.        6a999270ce6ada12b33b7245d25dbb82

So until next time, go ahead and enjoy your favourite music, respect others’ opinions, mind your own beeswax, and keep blogging!

3 thoughts on “On Musical Preferences and Associated Stereotypes

  1. You don’t know how much this applies to me. I listen to Hard Rock and Heavy Metal too, and once I tell people that, they look at me differently or they give me the “You look more of a Justin Bieber fan” look. Oh well, the world is going to change, right?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

