Teenage Years: The Struggles and Public Perception

The general view on teenagers varies widely depending on the region, time, trends, and, of course, social stereotypes.

Well, I’m a teenager. I don’t know what comes to people’s minds when they see me, but I can safely assume most of the image they have doesn’t apply to me. In fact, it doesn’t really apply to anyone. It might be common to think that teenagers are rude, hate adults, go wild in terms of parties and substance abuse, dress provocatively to look cool or popular, etc… While a lot of teenagers do fit into that description, it is simply unfair to shove us all into the same category.

I don’t like it when I walk into a restaurant or a diner with my friends and the waiter/waitress gives us a cold look because s/he immediately assumes we’re going to be stuck up and rude. I don’t like the way I’m  not taken seriously when I ask about the job market and university majors on demand. And I certainly don’t it when someone assumes I don’t know what I want because my choices might seem a bit odd to them.

Why do I have to deal with this? Why can’t I be taken for who I am? Why can’t people see beyond their noses and stop looking at us like we’re a herd of sheep on crack?

Not all teenagers are immature. Not all teenagers are rude. Not all teenagers want to party and get high all the time. Just because that’s what you see in American movies – a bunch of drunk, irresponsible, hormonal kids – doesn’t mean it’s true. At least not for everyone.

I know what I want; I have my life planned and sorted out. All I can do now is work my way over there. I want an education, then a job, then a spouse and a family. Sure I can loosen up and have fun when I want to; I never said I was against all that, but you don’t have to automatically picture me at a night club, drunk and half-naked.

Teenagers are not yet adults but no longer children. They’re not completely independent yet but no longer immature. You can’t hold them responsible for all their actions because there’s still a part of them that hasn’t grown yet. They are in the process of becoming adults, so you can’t judge them and expect them to act all-wise and insightful. You will, however come across some teenagers who will sweep you away with their intelligence and shock you with their wisdom.

Think of it as a shoe. You can’t fit everyone’s feet into the same shoe. You can find two people with the same shoe size, but their feet might have different shapes.

So until next time, eliminate those prior judgments you have of people, disregard  absurd stereotypes, treat people the way they deserve to be treated, and keep blogging,

10 thoughts on “Teenage Years: The Struggles and Public Perception

  1. An advantage to being looked at as immature or stupid is that you get to shock with the amount of knowledge and insight coursing through your veins as a teenager! It can be sort of like BAM!! WISDOM! YEAH,THAT JUST HAPPENED! Then just sit back and let them wonder…..;) haha!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This was a well written post. It is extremely insightful and educational. I’m just an old man but I have been through the teenage years with one of my son’s and at first, when he was barely a teenager, I was most certainly under the very impression you so eloquently described. However, it was very long until I realized what a great person he was, and still is. I began treating him more like an adult but still was always there when or if he needed something or some fatherly advice. He also taught me a lot along the way. Keep being you and I hope other adults will see you in the light that i have come to do through your writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! It brings me so much relief knowing that my writing has served someone somehow. I’m sure your son is an amazing person. It’s unfortunate that so many great kids never get the chance to show who they really are because no one is willing to listen. Keep up the great parenting and have a nice day!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

