Testing Trauma

Today was the first time I took the Official SAT, and I’m worn out. I’d taken a model SAT at school under the same conditions and everything, but that was just to familiarize myself with the actual test, and needless to say, I wasn’t half as worried then as I was today.

Besides the quite-normal pre-test nerves and jumpiness, the weather at the test center was rather cold. I did not expect such a cold breeze there, so I wore a light shirt and jeans. Consequently, I froze my ass off during the test and shivered uncontrollably.

The English section had everything I’d been practicing and expected to encounter, and the Math section was relatively easier than what I’d practiced at home, but I got nervous during the test, and my mind sort of shut down at the cold weather, so I couldn’t think straight and took more time than usual on some questions, which meant I did not have enough time to complete some others.

I can take the test again as many times as I want as long as it’s before 2016 because the format will have changed by then, and I’m not prepared for the new version, but I can’t say I’m not pissed I didn’t do a great job. I have college goals in mind, so I need high scores, and I can’t get those of my brain shuts down every fucking time.

I have a headache, and I’m hungry. I’ll leave it at this.

Until next time, practice keeping your brain alert, prepare emotionally for upcoming tests, work hard for your goals whatever they are, and keep blogging.

8 thoughts on “Testing Trauma

  1. Hey lovey, don’t pressure yourself too much! Look into mindful mediation if you don’t know what it is. It will help you to learn how to practice that to calm your brain down for testing for the SAT and you will find it to be mighty helpful when you are in college taking midterms and finals each semester. Just a tip from an old pro lol!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know that, but the overall atmosphere is that of tension, and it makes things harder than they actually are. I’m practicing a lot, though, and I’m getting better. Thank you for the advice! It does help. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am forever dishing out unsolicited advice! It sucks having to be in a room full of stressed out people and trying to keep cool. It is good that you are practicing. You seem to have a solid head on your shoulders so you will excel.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Well I am a hard worker, so I’m not stopping till I get the score that qualifies me for the scholarship I want. Thank you, again, for your kind words and support! It makes me feel so much better about myself.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Good for you! Aim high and you will get there. 😉 .
        You are welcome. We can all use a little lifting up from time to time!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Quick tip: skip as much as 4 to 5 questions per section, and believe me that your scores most definitely will increase. Even at home, skip as many tough questions or ones that take more time. Once you do that, calculate your score and i guarentee you better scores!! Best of luck !!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

