Under Pressure

I’m one of those people who worry too much, often for no valid reason. I usually know there is no reason for me to be worried, but I do because I don’t know how not to worry, really. I’m not normal if I’m not worried about something. Anyway, so I’m a sophomore, and I should undergo the process of SATs and whatnot, and for that reason my school organised with some professionals in the field of international test-taking to allow us to take a free diagnostic sample of the SAT in the same format and atmosphere that will take over on the actual test day, and of course, you could probably guess I was pretty worried about it. Yeah, I was bloody worried.

Although it was only a diagnostic, meaning it was prepared for the sole purpose of allowing us to experience what it’s like to take the test and be able to evaluate our performance and point out our weak points, I, for some reason, took it seriously and worked really hard on it.

I’m an ambitious person; if I have something in mind, it better happen, and I do work to make it happen. Beneath the lazy-ass complainee is a-believe it or not- dedicated hard worker who strives for, shall we say, more than satisfactory results and near happiness. Yes, near happiness because I personally do not believe there is a person who is truly happy in every aspect of life.

Strolling through the English sections effortlessly, I began to feel confident and could feel the concern lift off. Well… not for long because we both know there’s a Maths section in there too, and we also know I will totally fuck it up, which I did, by the way.

The Maths part is notoriously easy, but what can I  say, I’m a total nutjob when it comes to Math. Well, just for the record, I’m not a TOTAL birdbrain, but I lack mathematical logic, and quite simply, I hate Maths with every ounce of my being.

Aaaaand we get back to the part where I begin to worry again, heat up, and lose focus. We were 3 hours in when my eyelids got heavy, and my vision began to blur. I was near to putting my pencil down and calling it a day when the proctor announced there was only one 10-minute section left, so I pulled my shit together, filled in my answers, and left with my friends.

We hung out at my best friend’s place, had fantastic food, danced, chatted, possibly gossiped a bit, when it was time for us to leave. We said our good-byes, hugged, and went our own ways.

I’ll see them again on Monday, but the drama at the end was fun, so yeah.

So always remind yourself that you chose to do it for a reason, never give up because you just might be closer to the finish than you think. Have some fun, chill, go crazy, and keep in mind that everyone has a battle to fight and yours is just as important.

Leave a Reply

