I Crave A Makeover

I kinda want to trim my bangs. They’ve grown out a lot since last year, and they’re starting to bug me.
But the thing is, I like my hair that way. Last year, I cut my hair short; shorter than shoulder level, and ended up looking like a pom pom with a face. (In case you’re wondering, I have curly African hair which is tricky because it shrinks and appears shorter than it is. Ah, the struggle.)
Anyway, I’ve always wanted to grow my hair out more than I usually do, and it’s grown pretty fast because I’ve been following a hair treatment schedule, and it’s working out perfectly. I want to layer my hair, sort of like this:

image

This is not me, but it’s similar to my hair type, almost the same colour, too, but without the lowlights. My hair is a bit shorter with a bit less volume, but I’m getting there. I kinda want to make it lighter in colour. I want to use chammomile spray, which works beautifully, but it’s winter, and I need to bathe in the sun for a while. Guess that’ll have to wait.
I used to get teased for my hair alot; people used to throw pens and watch how they stick in there, and it made me very insecure about myself. I’ve learned to love myself and my hair, to embrace the way I am and not give a damn what people thought, and I think everyone should do that because it’s very liberating, trust me.

So if you’re upset about what people tell you or how they judge you, make sure you decide better than to listen to any of them. You’re better off being confident than waiting for others to tell you to do so.

10 thoughts on “I Crave A Makeover

    1. Oh my, thank you! It usually comes with a wide forehead, which is annoying, but I’ve learned to live with it. It certainly does give off a bold first impression, and it’s easy to style! I usually just flick it off my face and go, easy. But it does require a little extra care when it comes to using the right products and moisturizing it properly. It’s a lot of work, but I love it nevertheless.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome! Masha Allah it sounds lovely. I have that kind of in-between hair which is neither completely straight nor completely curly. But it’s a little on the curlier side, and I have to take extra care with what products I use too 😊 Weak conditioners just don’t have any effect on me. So I understand! 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I feel you – I have curly hair. And since I cut it short, it’s… very poofy. Rather obnoxious. But I love it. And your hair, from what I see in your profile picture, is absolutely gorgeous. I can only imagine it short. I bet it was wonderful. Embrace your curly hair! Lots of people would kill to have it. At least you’re doing something to take care of yours and make it look nice. I just wash mine and go.
    Keep posting, and stay beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I spend a lot of time taking care of the frizz, gah, it’s crazy. You might want to use a leave-in cream to make it look better after a shower.
      And thank you for the compliments, same goes your way! Although I haven’t seen your hair, I bet it looks amazing.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What is your treatment schedule or and what products do you use? My daughter is mixed and she has tight curls that shrink up, we had it cut quite some time ago and are working on growing it longer, hopefully weighing it down some sui it will grow down and not out. She too is often made fun of (she’s 9) because her hair is so curly and poofy, people always pull it to see if it will bounce back.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know what it’s like. I’m 17 and people still pull my hair and stick things inside of it. As a child it made me sad, angry even, that people would be so shallow as to ridicule me for my hair. I grew to love and cherish my locks, and I think you should tell your daughter to be proud of it because I get a lot of comments saying people envy me for my hair.
      As for my treatment, I went for a three-month placenta treatment. I bought a box of 12 ampoules of Placental extract, applied it once or twice a week, and saw satisfying results. Note that I used it to regrow my hair as it was falling out excessively, but it does help in growing it longer if that’s what you want for her. I change shampoos regularly but often pick ones with moisturizing effects (preferably containing coconut or honey) and having a lightweight texture. Same goes to my conditioner. I’ve tried lots but was pleased with Herbal Essences products as they go with my hair type. For puffiness and shrinkage use a leave-in cream after showering. There are a lot of products made especially for curly hair, so just pick the one that matches your daughter’s hair type, it should keep her curls weighed down and looking fresh not frizzy. I hope this helped. Feel free to ask anything else, and thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you so much for your detailed reply. We live in a predominately white neighborhood, so my daughter and her hair tend to stick out. I have really curly hair too. I tell her everyday that her and her hair are beautiful. She gets many compliments as well, but she still has a hard time understanding why I can’t make her hair look like her friends. Thanks for the tips, I’ll check out the treatment and some new shampoo and conditioner.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

